“The Scent” Flash Fiction by Phil Slattery

This is a story I have had published several times since it was first written around 2001. It is also the first story I ever had published. It is poignant and reflective has always been one of my favorites. A strange thing happens as Quinn lies down to sleep after a night on the town. … Continue reading “The Scent” Flash Fiction by Phil Slattery

New Ad Concept: The Scent

I decided to toy with marketing by creating posters for my short stories. The basic idea is just to quickly create something that will grab people's attention and get my name in front of them. If they read the story, which can be found online, then maybe they will like my writing style and look … Continue reading New Ad Concept: The Scent

Update October 26, 2020: Book Covers and Progress on Shadows and Stars

I was going through my electronic files tonight and came across a couple of alternate covers for a couple of my works. I thought I would post them up just to show them off. I don't think I have posted them before, but I might have. Let me know what you think of them. Of … Continue reading Update October 26, 2020: Book Covers and Progress on Shadows and Stars

The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love is Free Today on Amazon Kindle

The new cover for "The Scent and Other Stories" as of October 2020 In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting … Continue reading The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love is Free Today on Amazon Kindle

Update of August 18, 2020: Second Edition of The Scent and Other Stories Coming Soon!

I have decided to put out a second edition of The Scent and Other Stories. My primary reason for doing this is because I don't like the cover any more. It is too dark and bland. When I initially created it, having been a (film) photographer at one point, I thought a black and white photo … Continue reading Update of August 18, 2020: Second Edition of The Scent and Other Stories Coming Soon!

Update, December 5, 2019: The Scent and Other Stories and X-Ray

On Thursday the 5th, I made use of a new Kindle author's feature called X-Ray. X-Ray links characters and terms in an author's work to either links (written by the author) or to Wikipedia Articles about the character/term. It is very easy to use. An author goes to his/her KDP page for the work and … Continue reading Update, December 5, 2019: The Scent and Other Stories and X-Ray

“The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970's Kentucky … Continue reading “The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

“The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970's Kentucky … Continue reading “The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

“The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970's Kentucky … Continue reading “The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

“The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970's Kentucky … Continue reading “The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

Developing New E-Book Covers

Since last night, I have been toying with some ideas for new covers for my e-books in order to generate interest in my works and thereby increase sales.  I have tried to create eye-catching designs.  Let me know what you think.  I have already incorporated a few into my works.  See how they compare to … Continue reading Developing New E-Book Covers

“The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970's Kentucky … Continue reading “The Scent and Other Stories: the Dark Side of Love” is Available on Amazon Kindle

Thank You to Fans of “Nocturne: Poems of Love, Distance, and the Night…”

Thank you to everyone who is showing interest in Nocturne... and helping to make it more popular. I found out about 10:00 a.m. (Mountain Standard Time) this morning that it is for now within the top 25 poetry anthologies among Kindle e-books.  These stats are  updated hourly, so the rating will change one way or … Continue reading Thank You to Fans of “Nocturne: Poems of Love, Distance, and the Night…”