Category: Advertising

My Works are Available at a Book Retailer near You

Since I published A Tale of Hell and Other Works of Horror with IngramSpark, I am going to different bookstores online and searching them for my works. Just now, I found that Powell Books can order my print books. I know Barnes and Noble can get them as well. I will keep you updated as I find more. IngramSpark is supposed to make my works available via print on demand to over 39,000 retailers. Ask your local bookstore for them.

Ad for A Tale of Hell

Ad for A Tale of Hell
New ad created August 19, 2020.

As I mentioned yesterday, four of my flash horror stories I have been accepted for publication in Ezine 51. The publishers have also offered to run a full-page ad in the issue for a very reasonable $10. I have submitted the ad shown. Let me know what you think of it. I will use it again as the opportunity arises.

Sirens Call required that the ad be 1100 px x 850. This did permit me to use only the painting, because the text would cover too much of it. Therefore I shrunk the painting down on Pixlr E and filled the background with black so that the painting would appear to be coming out of the darkness, which is appropriate for Hell. It’s like you are looking through the smoke and darkness to see the fight. It also allows all the other colors to appear bright.

The most important text was the book title, particularly “A Tale of Hell” since that carries the most impact and with the painting conveys in an instant the most important emotions and archetypal ideas the book conveys. So I made that the biggest text in white to stand out the most against a dark background. I was trying to give the ad a three-dimensional feel.  Then of course I put the remainder of the title in white but smaller. I lined it up so that it didn’t cover the faces of the figures behind it. This also gives the title a feel of hanging out in the air as you watch the fight and the people and demon behind it. People’s vision and attention key on faces, so it’s important not to cover those.

The next most important text I put in yellow.

I put my own name in red and rather small, so that it doesn’t detract from the fight, but is still well visible yet almost blends into the background.

I used Pixlr E to make the ad and chose the fonts from there. I wanted the title to pop out like a movie title and to have a feel that it might be used on a sign in Hell so I chose a font that is more formal, something that looks like it was made by a professional. For the yellow text I chose something that would look like it might be found scrawled on a wall in Hell. Not using the same font as I did for the title makes it stand out more from the rest of the text. I chose a simple, narrow font for my name, so that it would stand out from the other text, yet it would be quite legible.

I found out just now that Siren’s Call accepted the ad. It will run in their Fall/Halloween issue.

Many heartfelt thanks to Siren’s Call for both publishing my works and my ad.

Update: June 8, 2019, 5:59 p.m. Publicity/Marketing

April 15, 2017

The post immediately before this one, gave me an idea/revelation (remember that I am still a novice at marketing).

Advertising my upcoming novels by updating the progress on them is like a TV mystery series with a definite but unpredictable conclusion somewhere in the future. Hopefully, it will likewise draw an ever-increasing audience as a TV mystery would.

At the moment, we are watching “Good Omens” (very entertaining) on Amazon, which stars Michael Sheen and David Tennant of “Broadchurch” and “Dr. Who”.  The connection with the preceding paragraph is that the first season (at least) of “Broadchuch” is a good example of at TV mystery that intrigues the audience and draws them toward a inevitable but unpredictable conclusion.

There was another revelation associated with this, but I can’t recall it offhand. I have had little sleep over the past few days and my mind (or what’s left of it) isn’t functioning at full capacity..

Update: May 11, 2019 Using Facebook for Publicity

For some time, I have been tinkering with a way to generate publicity for my posts on Facebook personal page.  When deciding who to request to be a friend, I look at two criteria.

First, I look at how many friends we have in common.

I select people with whom we share at least one hundred friends (this is a purely subjective and arbitrary number).  This tells me that he/she is not a creep. It is essentially like having a hundred references. The closer to having zero friends in common, the better the odds that person many not be someone I want to deal with regularly. At least, that’s my experience.  In the past, when I have decided to befriend someone with whom I share no friends, I sometimes regret the decision.

This also helps build a solid network. If I befriend someone who shares one hundred friends with me, when I post something that goes out to my, let’s say, two hundred friends, and then my new friend reposts it, that posts goes out to our one hundred friends in common twice, plus to all his friends that we don’t have in common.  If he has one hundred friends in common with me alone, the odds are good that he has a lot more friends which we don’t have in common.

Now imagine how many people your posts will go out to if you have 500 friends with whom you have 100 friends in common with each of them.  If only two or three people share one of your posts, the word about that post will start to spread among all those friends in common plus all those friends you don’t have in common.  Hopefully, it will create something of a snowball effect.

Second, I seek out friends with whom I have an interest in writing and being an author in common. I decide this very superficially, but I think effectively. I look for people who have a book they wrote as their avatar or have the title “author” or “writer” in their name (e.g. John Doe, Author).  This tells me they are serious about their writing as it take a high priority in their lives.

Now, I am developing an overlapping network of authors and writers that will probably be interested in anything I write about writing my works or writing in general.

I also post a lot of humor, about writing and otherwise, to keep my posts fun and entertaining.  No one will want to keep up with someone boring.

I welcome any thoughts or ideas you have.

 

Developing New E-Book Covers

Since last night, I have been toying with some ideas for new covers for my e-books in order to generate interest in my works and thereby increase sales.  I have tried to create eye-catching designs.  Let me know what you think.  I have already incorporated a few into my works.  See how they compare to the others by visiting my author’s page.  The photos are all from the public domain.

 

 

 

 

 

And here is one I developed just for posting on Facebook.

I will probably develop a few more over the next few days.

Thank You to Fans of “Nocturne: Poems of Love, Distance, and the Night…”

Thank you to everyone who is showing interest in Nocturne… and helping to make it more popular. I found out about 10:00 a.m. (Mountain Standard Time) this morning that it is for now within the top 25 poetry anthologies among Kindle e-books.  These stats are  updated hourly, so the rating will change one way or the other by day’s end. For those of you who don’t have Kindle, don’t forget that there is also a print version available.  Here are the ratings as posted on Amazon:

#22 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Anthologies & Literature Collections > Poetry

#32 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Poetry > American

#1704 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > United States

Here is a link to it for those of you who want to investigate it and my other works:

amazon.com/author/philslattery

If you enjoy Nocturne and introspective love stories in general, check out my short story collection The Scent and Other Stories.

In this slim anthology, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes

Cover of the Kindle edition
(500 pixels wide)

touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970’s Kentucky to a mother’s deathbed confession in present-day New Mexico to debating pursuing a hateful man’s wife to the callous manipulation of a lover in Texas.

This small collection of short stories is perfect for those who have only short breaks to escape their world and explore how lives can intertwine with sometimes disastrous results.

The Scent and Other Stories is available in print as well.

My Poetry Collection “Nocturne” is Free August 21 in Honor of Poet’s Day

I am giving away copies of the e-version of Nocturne:  Poems of Love, Distance, and the Night, a callous and disinterested lover on Poet’s Day, August 21, 2018

Nocturne is a collection of my poetry written from the mid-80’s to mid-90s, a turbulent, fluid time in my life in many ways, but especially romantically. I have taken many of the poems written during those years and compiled them into a dark narrative capturing the emotional turmoil of a narrator who descends from romantic love for a woman into a lonely world of alcohol and night clubs, where his only love is the night that envelopes him psychologically, emotionally, and physically.  It is about 110 print pages in length and lavishly illustrated with photos I found in the public domain (no, those are not photos of me or my former paramours).

You can find Nocturne and my other works at my Amazon author’s page:  Amazon.com/author/philslattery.

I have tried to make this a wonderful experience for the reader, exploring the bliss of love to the depths of despair and then to resignation to one’s fate in an existential crisis.

Don’t forget to leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads!

While there, you might want to check out my other work examining relationships: The Scent and Other Stories.  In this collection of short stories, I explore the dark, sometimes violent, sometimes twisted, sometimes touching side of love, the side kept not only from public view, but sometimes from our mates. Set in the modern era, these stories range from regretting losing a lover to forbidden interracial love in the hills of 1970’s Kentucky to a mother’s deathbed confession in present-day New Mexico to debating pursuing a hateful man’s wife to the callous manipulation of a lover in Texas.

Check back frequently for updates.